FYROM, Montenegro, Slovenia, Croatia voted against Serbia

We notice you’ve got an ad-blocker switched on. Adblocking costs websites money, and independent media such is InSerbia finance themselves through online ads. Please protect the future of the free internet by re-establishing a fair deal between web users and the content creators who you want to support and enable Ads on our website.

Thank You!

Perhaps you’d like to support the InSerbia in another way?

BELGRADE – At Monday’s plenary session of the UNESCO General Conference, Kosovo was not admitted to the organization after it failed to win the necessary two-third majority vote. Out of 142 votes, 92 were in favor of Kosovo’s UNESCO membership, 50 against, and 29 countries abstained from voting.

The two-third majority needed 95 votes, therefore only three votes were missing for the adoption of the proposal.

Social networks have exploded after the announcement of UNESCO results, with the agreement that countries that were on the side of Serbia in UNESCO are true friends of the Serbian people. Foreign Minister Ivica Dacic at a press conference stated that “we should remember the names of the countries that voted for the admission of Kosovo to UNESCO.”

Against Kosovo’s admission to UNESCO were: South Africa, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Belarus, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Chile, China, Cyprus, Congo, Cuba, Ecuador, Eritrea, Spain, Ethiopia, Russia, Georgia, Guatemala, Equatorial Guinea, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Morocco, Mauritius, Mozambique, Mexico, Myanmar, Namibia, Nicaragua, Uganda, Palestine, Paraguay, Philippines, Syria, Moldova, Democratic Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Laos, North Korea, Serbia, Slovakia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zimbabwe.

For the admission of Kosovo to UNESCO were: Afghanistan, Albania, Germany, Andorra, Saudi Arabia, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Denmark, Djibouti, El Salvador, UAE, Estonia, FYROM (Macedonia), Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Cook Islands, Solomon Islands, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Kuwait, Lesotho, Latvia, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malawi, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Nauru, Niger, Norway, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Palaos, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Netherlands, Portugal, Qatar, Dominican Republic, Czech Republic, Tanzania, United Kingdom, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, San Marino, Samoa, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, Somalia, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Chad, Thailand, East Timor, Togo, Tonga, Turkey, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Yemen.

Abstained countries were: Algeria, Bangladesh, Barbuda, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burundi, Cameroon, Comoros, Egypt, Greece, Guinea-Bissau, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Mali, Nepal, Nigeria, Peru, Poland, Central African Republic, South Korea, Romania, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Seychelles, Singapore, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Vietnam, Zambia.

Countries that were not present during the vote: Azerbaijan, Cape Verde, Cambodia, Marshall Islands, Iran, Iraq, Madagascar, Maldives, Mauritania, Mongolia, Uzbekistan, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine.

The proposal for the admission of Kosovo has previously been explained by representatives of the US, UK and Germany on the grounds that it is not a vote to recognize Kosovo as a state, or to enter the UN, but the request for “the people of Kosovo to have access to cultural values ​​and education” and “in the end to support the mission of UNESCO “.

Serbia, Russia, Argentina and Cuba repeated that the admission of Kosovo to UNESCO would mean politicization of the organization, as well as a violation of the international law.

Source: InSerbia News (Montenegro)