Island before Slovenia: The first country to ratify the Protocol on the Accession of Montenegro to NATO

#Nato #Iceland #Ratification #ProtocolOnAccession #Membership #Montenegro


Iceland is the first member state which has ratified the Protocol on the Accession of Montenegro to NATO.

As announced by the Communication Team of the Council for NATO membership, Iceland did it today, exactly ten years after also being the first country to officially recognize Montenegro’s independence on June 8, 2006.

“Diplomatic relations between the two countries were established shortly thereafter, and Iceland and Montenegro started building strong bonds of friendship, through bilateral visits and multilateral forums, most importantly, through cooperation between small European countries”, the statement said.

The Communication Team stated the ratification of the Accession Protocol is another confirmation of a strong friendship between Iceland and Montenegro.

“Montenegro was twice honored by Iceland: ten years after one of the oldest European countries first recognized the state of Montenegro, the oldest parliament in the world, Icelandic Alting, is the first of all member countries of the Alliance to ratify the accession protocol for Montenegro”, the statement added.

Source: Cafe Del Montenegro