Montenegro, Macedonia supported Kosovo’s admission to UNESCO

We notice you’ve got an ad-blocker switched on. Adblocking costs websites money, and independent media such is InSerbia finance themselves through online ads. Please protect the future of the free internet by re-establishing a fair deal between web users and the content creators who you want to support and enable Ads on our website.

Thank You!

Perhaps you’d like to support the InSerbia in another way?

BELGRADE – Montenegro and Macedonia were today among 27 countries that voted for the admission of Kosovo to UNESCO at the meeting of the Executive Council of the organization in Paris.

Among the countries that have given their vote “for” Kosovo in UNESCO were also: Afghanistan, Albania, Austria, Belize, UK, El Salvador, United Arab Emirates, Estonia, the US, France, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Italy, Kuwait, Dominican Republic, Germany, Thailand, Togo, Chad, Czech Republic, Sweden, Pakistan, Saint Kitts and Nevis and the Netherlands.

14 countries voted against: Argentina, Angola, Brazil, China, Ecuador, Spain, Ethiopia, Russia, India, Morocco, Mexico, Namibia, Nigeria and Cuba.

Countries restrained from voting were: Algeria, Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Mozambique, Nepal, Papua New Guinea, Trinidad and Tobago and Uganda.

Countries whose representatives stayed out of the hall during the voting, so they did not vote, were: Tunisia, Turkmenistan and Ukraine.

As only votes for and against the proposal formally submitted by Albania counted, it was adopted.

The Executive Council of UNESCO therefore decided to give recommendation to the General Conference of UNESCO, which will be held from November 3 to 18, for the admission of Kosovo.

Source: InSerbia News (Montenegro)