The opposition to boycott Parliament’s inaugural session and to consider protests

#Protests #TheKeyCoalition #SocialDemocraticParty(Sdp) #TheDemocrats #InauguralSession


The Key coalition, the Democrats and the Social Democratic Party (SDP) will not attend Parliament’s inaugural session. Representatives of these parties decided that at today’s meeting.

According to the information CDM obtained from the opposition, the decision not to attend Parliament’s inaugural meeting was made at the meeting of opposition representatives, which was not attended by the Democratic Font (DF) representatives. According to the source, the opposition will consider continuing to boycott Parliament in the coming period.

The source also said that all options are on the table – the boycott of the Parliament and protests as a democratic form of struggle if it is insisted that the elections of 16 October were free and fair.

The opposition invited the minority parties again to accept negotiations with the civic opposition.

Inaugural session by 14 November

The inaugural session of the newly elected Parliament will be held not later than 14 November.

According to Article 88 of the Constitution, the first session of the Parliament shall be convened by the Parliament Speaker of the previous composition within 15 days after declaring final election results.

This means that the next Parliament session will be held not later than 14 November and, according to the Constitution, it shall be convened by the former leader of Positive Montenegro Darko Pajovic.

The first Parliament’s session will be chaired by DPS MP Marija Catovic, as the eldest MP, until the new Parliament speaker is elected. According to the Rules of Procedure, she will be assisted by the youngest MP, Dzenan Kolic, MP for the Democrats and the Secretary General of the parliament Sinisa Stankovic.

State Electoral Commission declared the election results on a Saturday night, according to which DPS won 35 Parliament seats, DF won 18, the Key coalition 9, Democrats 8, SDP 4, Bosniak Party 2, the Social Democrats (SD) 2, whereas the Croatian Civic Initiative (GHI) and the Albanians Resolute coalition (Forca, DUA, AA) one parliament seat each.

Source: Cafe Del Montenegro