The process of ratification completed

#ParliamentOfMontenegro #JensStoltenberg #AccessionProtocol #TheGovernment #TheAgreement #PrimeMinister #TheParliament #TheNetherlands #MemberStates #SecretaryGeneral


The procedure of ratification of the Protocol by member states of the Alliance was completed with the ratification of the Protocol on the Accession of Montenegro to NATO in the Upper House of Parliament of Spanish Kingdom.

The process of ratification of the Accession Protocol began in the member states of the Alliance in June 2016. Iceland is the first country which has ratified the Protocol on the accession of Montenegro to NATO on June 8, 2016, exactly ten years after Iceland, also as the first country, recognized Montenegro.

The Parliament of Montenegro, as reminded from the Government, has unanimously adopted the Bill on Ratification of the North Atlantic Treaty on 28 April 2017.

After the ratification act in the Netherlands, where national procedure was completed, comes into force on June 1, an invitation letter of the NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg to Montenegro to join NATO would follow.

As the Prime Minister Dusko Markovic announced two days ago in an interview with “Voice of America” during his stay in Washington, by depositing of instrument of ratification of the agreement, which was scheduled for 5 June, Montenegro will officially become the 29th member of NATO.

Source: Radio Television Montenegro